Deal of the Week Inspiration

DOTW4_01 This week’s 30% discount on the Styled Vanilla Hodgepodge Hardware was just the boost I needed to pull it out of my stash and do some creating!  Since I finally got the Scallop Edge punch during the first week of this fabulous promotion, I was itching to make something with that as well.

The ribbon used here is actually Very Vanilla, and I custom-dyed it using a one-to-one solution of Mellow Moss reinker and water because I didn’t have any Mellow Moss taffeta and the grosgrain just looked too heavy.  To set the color, I just tossed it in the dryer (set on low)  for a minute or two!  This method seems to work better than coloring with markers or dragging across an ink pad, and heat-setting it using the dryer is easier than doing it with the heat gun!  LOL, it also triggers flashbacks to junior high and creating my own “designer” t-shirts with puffy paints!

As a final touch, after stamping the vanilla layer I ran it through the Big Shot with one of our exclusive texture plates.  I think it complements the stamped flourish perfectly, and gives just the right something extra so that it doesn’t look flat.

**note: this card measures 4 1/2” x 6” and fits in a size A6 envelope**

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink: Rose Red, Mellow Moss

Paper: Very Vanilla, Rose Red, Mellow Moss

Accessories: Styled Vanilla Hodgepodge Hardware, Very Vanilla Taffeta ribbon, Scallop Edge punch, SU! exclusive “Backgrounds 1” texture plates for the Big Shot

Click here to visit my demonstrator website and order all the supplies you need to recreate this card – remember, the 30% discount on Styled Vanilla hardware only lasts till 9:50 am MT on Monday July 27th!

Leave a Reply

